The Zone (Prototype)

The Zone: Have you ever been walking somewhere, zoned out, and then arrived at your destination, having followed a complex set of instructions, without thinking about where you were going? This is the theme my video documentary, The Zone, explores. Dealing with the apparent acceleration of time, my project follows 2 trips I made, one of which was to the Gerrard Square Mall, and the other was to get dinner on the Danforth. During my walks, I did my best to record the times where I was not focused on the path I was taking, and when I was focused, and then speed or slow down the video accordingly. It documents certain things that I find fascinating about how our people work, such as how we can navigate traffic without paying conscious attention, or even uphold a conversation without thinking about where you are going.

 

Original Proposal:  I will be creating a web based interactive video site that deals with the theme of the internet and its effects on the acceleration of time. I believe that there are 3 main components that contribute to this effect: social media’s rapid acceleration of news, image and video sharing’s effect on media creation, and search engine’s information retrievals speeds. The website will consist mainly focused on 3 different interactive windows, each window representing one of the 3 components. The three different windows will portray mostly video and animation, while forcing the user to click through different options and examples. This will allow participants to clearly experience the transmission of time, rather than just be told about it.

Works Cited

Gordon, Michael. “Finding Information on the World Wide Web: the Retrieval Effectiveness of Search Engines.” Information Processing & Management 35.2 (1999): 141-80. Print.

Meikle, Graham. Future Active: Media Activism and the Internet. Annandale, N.S.W.: Pluto, 2002. Print.

Pronovost, Gilles. “The Internet and Time Dispacement: A Canadian Perspective.” IT&Society 1.1 (2002): 44-53. Web. <citeseerx.ist.psu.edu/viewdoc/download?doi=10.1.1.11.738&rep=rep1&type=pdf>.

About Connors Eilersen

I am a graduate (BFA) of Ryerson University, and I like to make things, design things, and think things.
This entry was posted in Documentation. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

