A Response to “On Getting Paid” by Jessica Hische

http://www.jessicahische.is/obsessedwiththeinternet/category/andhelpingyougetpaid

The first thing I have to say about this article is that the writing style is excellent. The way that the writer of this article is speaking to the readers makes the article actually entertaining, and I found myself reading it a second time after the first.

I found the section talking about hourly pricing versus fixed amount pricing to be incredibly useful. It paints a pretty clear picture about what to do with pricing certain types of jobs, but more specifically, how to price when you first start freelancing. Having just started up a freelancing company of my own, thus making me a prime example of the target audience, I can say for certain that this information is valuable to any new comer to the business.

When Hische discusses licensing and rights management, I was left with a couple of different thoughts. One of these thoughts was simply intrigue, as I had never heard of this existing in the design world. I think some of her points are valid, but not all. I think her idea of charging for a company to use their logo for a limited time is sort of a silly concept, considering all the money the company would have to spend to get a new logo and change their image. I do agree with charging them more for the unlimited use rights, it’s just that I would include that in the price with no mention of other options. I thought that pricing for presentation was interesting, and also completely valid. If you are spending the time to give them a mock-up of some work, you deserve to be paid for those hours.

Overall, I thoughts the article was both interesting and informative. I would, without a doubt, suggest it to anyone that wants to get into the freelance design business.

About Connors Eilersen

I am a graduate (BFA) of Ryerson University, and I like to make things, design things, and think things.
This entry was posted in Artist/Article Responses. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

